March 2013 Annual Membership Meeting and Dinner

by Dorée Huneven

The 2013 Annual Meeting for MD/DC Chapter was held at Mamma Lucia Restaurant in Olney, Maryland, on March 17, 2013.

Twenty-five chapter members were present at the meeting. President Daniel Levitov quickly dispatched the six agenda items. The dinner was attended by 35 members and guests. A jolly time was had by all, due to the excellent food choices, attentive servers, and long tables full of old and new friends. Punctuating the various courses of food were the presentation of MD/DC Chapter’s two annual awards, and excellent cello performances given by Ellen Gira, student of Glenn Garlick and former student of Matthew Tifford, and Iain San Hoi Forrest, one of Matthew’s current students.

Past President Catherine Stewart presented the Service to Strings Award to Rebecca Henry, and the Teacher of the Year Award to Gerald Fischbach.

The speaker for the evening was Alan Stepansky, Professor of Cello at Peabody and the Manhattan School of Music, who spoke amusingly and eloquently on the topic of audition preparation for students entering university as music majors.

Thanks go to Matthew Tifford, President-elect, for all arrangements for this successful event.

Photos below were taken by various people with Dorée Huneven’s camera.

Top to bottom:

1. Left to right: Chapter members Mark Pfannschmidt, Lorraine Combs, Lya Stern, Margaret Wright, and Gerald Fischbach.

2. Iain San Hoi Forrest.

3. Ellen Gira, Matthew Tifford, and Iain San Hoi Forrest.

4. Ellen Gira.

5. President Daniel Levitov, Past President Catherine Stewart, guest speaker Alan Stepansky, and President-elect Matthew Tifford.

6. Catherine Stewart presents the 2013 Teacher of the Year Award to Gerald Fischbach.

7. Catherine Stewart presents the 2013 Service to Strings Award to Rebecca Henry.

Mark, Lorraine, Lya, Margy, Gerald

Iain San Hoi Forrest

Ellen, Matthew, Iain

Ellen Gira

Daniel, Catherine, Alan, Matthew

Catherine Stewart and Gerald Fischbach

Catherine Stewart and Rebecca Henry


Copyright © 2008 - 2010 ASTA MD/DC Chapter. This website was created by Jonas Music Services.