ASTA Receives Chester J. Petranek Award

ASTA was selected by Maryland Classic Youth Orchestras as the 2011 recipient of the Chester J. Petranek Award. Established in 1986, this award was initiated by the MCYO Board of Directors as a tribute to its founder and in celebration of forty years of talented young people creating music. It is presented each year to an individual or group for: OUTSTANDING COMMUNITY SERVICE IN ENRICHING THE MUSICAL LIFE OF THE WASHINGTON METROPOLITAN AREA.

The CEO of MCYO, Bill Ford, presented the award at the Spring Concert, May 22, 2011, at the Music Center at Strathmore. Catherine Stewart, ASTA MD/DC Chapter President, accepted the award on behalf of ASTA. Assisting in the ceremony were Dorée Huneven, MD/DC Chapter Past President; Lynn Fleming, MD/DC Chapter Youth Orchestra Liaison; and Jody Gatwood, Associate Professor of violin at CUA. All ASTA members in the audience were asked to stand and were acknowledged by the enthusiastic audience.

Petranek Award

From left to right: Jody Gatwood, Lynn Fleming, Dorée Huneven, Cheryl Jukes (MCYO Executive Director), Cathy Stewart, and Bill Ford (Chairman of MCYO Board of Directors).

Maryland Classic Youth Orchestras recognizes ASTA for its considerable contributions in developing educational standards and opportunities for string teachers and their students, many who become long-time, stellar members of the orchestra program. MCYO’s reputation as one of the top youth orchestra programs could not have been achieved without the dedication and commitment to excellence demonstrated by ASTA members. The work of ASTA enables MCYO to meet its own mission and enriches the community by providing a wealth of talent, musical experiences and performances.


Copyright © 2008 - 2010 ASTA MD/DC Chapter. This website was created by Jonas Music Services.